# **E-weekend Report**

Organised by: JU E-Cell, IIC

Title of the Session: E-Weekend 2023

Date and Time of Organization: 21st to 23rd January, 2023 (21st: 2 PM to 6 PM, 22nd &

23rd: 9 AM to 7 PM)

Venue: Jadavpur Campus, Teqip Building, 4th floor

## **Brief Intro of Program:**

JU E-Cell's E-weekend 2023 was organized under the Institute's Innovation Council (IIC) To harbour the spirit of entrepreneurship and an increased understanding of the business world amongst 1st year students across all faculties. It was a 3 day long event with mentorship on the first day and 2 events taking place each day namely - Pitchgenix, Data Binge, Corporate Devs and Technokraft.

Faculty Coordinator in Charge: Prof Aranyak Chakraborty and Prof Paltu Kumar Dhal.

#### **Attendance Sheet:**

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/10lsa\_P2dk7iTuvHu8Vd8rBVNxYontknx/edit?usp=sharing&ouid=103265722023399277720&rtpof=true&sd=true

Name	Year of Passing	Department
AYUSHMAN BORKAKOTI	2026	Printing
SOUVIK DALAPATI	2026	Power
ABDUL WAHID	2026	Power
SAPTASWA SAHANA	2026	Power
SACHIN MANDAL	2026	IT
IMTIAZ UDDIN	2026	Chemical
SOUMYADIP ROY	2026	Civil
PRITAM SAHA	2026	Construction
ANUBHAV SANTRA	2026	Construction
SOURIN KHAN	2026	Civil
SWASTIK GHATAK	2026	Electrical
SUPRIYA SHARMA	2026	Instrumentation
SOUMIK MANDAL	2026	IT
SANKHA SUBHRA SAIN	2026	IT
JOYDEEP SARKAR	2026	IT
AVIK KAR	2026	Electrical
NILAY SAHA	2026	Mechanical

SALONI PRASAD		Metallurgy
PRADUM NISHAD	2026	
DHRITIMAN DEBNATH		Construction
SAMRIDDHA MAJUMDAR	2026	
SOURAV DAS		Chemical
Golam mehemood		ETCE
Hasibur Rahaman	2026	Pharmacy
Arka Jagulia	2026	Power
Pallab Sarkar		Printing
Abid Ali Seikh	2026	Chemical
Saikat Mandal	2026	Electrical
pratim halder	2026	Metallurgy
Aloy Mallick	2026	Mechanical
Koushik Naskar	2026	CSE
NAWAZ SAMIM AKHTAR	2026	CSE
KAZI ROUNAK HASSAN	2026	ETCE
Aritra Haldar	2026	IT
Animesh Mondal	2026	IT
Projna Sadhukhan	2026	Electrical
Rayan Das	2026	Mechanical
Mohan Barman	2026	Metallurgy
Sandip Santra	2026	ETCE
Sayan Pramanick	2026	Food Tech
Maitrayo Saha	2026	Electrical
Arijit Sabui	2026	Mechanical
Rahul Biswas	2026	Food Tech
Buddhadev Hansda	2026	ETCE
Deack Chand Chanre	2026	Electrical
Rohan Hansda	2026	Mechanical
Ankit Kumar Sah	2026	CSE
SHIBSHANKAR DAS	2026	Electrical
Aman kumar	2026	Mechanical
ROHIT KR THAKUR	2026	ETCE
Ashish Kumar Mandal	2026	Chemical
Sayantan Debray	2026	Pharmacy
SOHAM SAHA	2026	Civil
Souradipto Sarkar	2026	Civil
SABARNO BISWAS	2026	Civil
Sayan Saha	2026	Electrical
Kaustav Guha Roy	2026	Chemical
Bishwayan Banerjee	2026	Mechanical
Anupam Roy	2026	Metallurgy
Ayush Roy		Metallurgy
, <del>.</del> ,	_	

## **Detailed Report**:

Day 1 of the event started off with mentorship and info-sessions. All students of the first year got one to one mentorship from their seniors and Jadavpur University alumni. The topics of mentorship included technology commercialisation, product innovation, business model development and planning, market research etc. This was a 4 hour long affair which resulted in stronger participation in the coming 2 days of the event.

4 events were conducted throughout the remaining 2 days with Jadavpur University serving as judges and mentors for all of the 1st year students present. Here is a brief description of each event:

## **Technokraft**

Technokraft was a product optimization event where all incoming participants where divided into teams of 2 people. They were then given a product and a list of associated pictures out of which they had to create a ppt regarding the best product possible within the given budget. They were given a total of 60 minutes to brainstorm while a pitching time of 4+3 minutes was provided to present their product in front of the judges. A total of 10 teams participated out of which a winner and runner's up team was selected. The judges for the event were Mr. Rajdeep Poddar and Mr. Swarnabha Saha. This was the the 1st event of day.

## **Pitchgenix**

Pitchgenix was a B-plan event where 11 teams of 2-4 members came up with business ideas across various industries. This was the 2nd event of day 1. Business ideas came in from the agro-tech, food delivery, sustainable fashion, real estate spaces and more. The pitching provided was 5+4 minutes. The event ended with the declaration of a winner team and 2 runner's up teams. The judges for the events were Mr. Krishnachur Ghosh and Mr. Abhishek Biswas.

#### **Data Binge**

Data Binge was a data analytics event. Participating teams were provided a data set 48 hours prior to the event with associated questions. They were asked to solve as many as they could using tools such Google code studio, Python, Excel and Knime. The teams were given a time of 5+3 minutes to pitch their solutions in front of the judges on D-day. Sessions were taken prior to the event to get the participants habituated with data analytics thus by the end, everybody had earned a hard skill that they could use further in their career. The event ended with the declaration of a winner and 2 runner's up teams. The judges for the event were Ms. Bhanupriya Saha and Mr. Pratap Chandra Das.

#### **Corporate Devs**

This was the last event for E-weekend 2023 and it spanned across 2 offline rounds. Teams of 3 were provided a case study 48 hours prior to the competition to work on and they presented their solution in front of the judges on 23rd Jan within a team of 4+2 minutes. 7

participants were selected based on their performance and given a mock board room meeting challenge for the final round.

For the final round a simulation of business board room meetings was created with each participant playing roles such as CEO, independent director, CFO, CTO, etc of a given fictional company. The participants were given an hour to evaluate their arguments for a provided situation of conflict. Due to the brand new format of the event, the seniors also helped them through the prep time. Finally, a 20 minutes mock meeting took place with a winner and 2 runner's up being declared at the end. A event of this sort has never been conducted for undergraduate students before so it was a one of a kind experience for everybody present. The judges for the event were Mr.Pritam Banerjee and Mr. Soumak Kumar Tah.



